Tournament Results – 45th Annual NM State Racquetball Championships + 1st Annual NM State Paddleball Championship

State Championships Report

March 1-4, 2018 Midtown Sports & Wellness–Albuquerque


New Mexico Sports & Wellness’ Midtown Club and the NM Racquetball Association Board of Directors thank the 90+ players, fans, and volunteers for some of the best competition over the 45 years of the event. Tremendous athletic prowess, precision, speed, and power were on display over the weekend. Congratulations to Frances Borunda for entering the Winners Circle again in the Womens Open category. Kudos to Andrew Clarke, who beat multiple State Champ Raymond Maestas in the Mens Open category. Tim Cohen made history as he won the Open crown in the first ever Paddleball category.

Results follow:


Womens Open:

Frances Borunda def Emily Arzate 15-6, 15-2 3rd Cristal Hernandez 4th Roseann Fitzpatrick 5th (tie) Diane Iafornaro & Beth Dermer

Womens A:

Cristal Hernandez def Beth Dermer 15-9, 15-13 3rd Patricia Thieman 4th Marisa Hamilton

Womens C/D:

Marisa Hamilton def Yvonne Grinnell 15-10, 15-9 3rd Lynne Tyner 4th Danielle Smith

Womens 70+:

Paula Sperling



Kyle Lucas def Levi Borunda Jr 15-5, 15-4 (1st 16 & under Lucas) (1st 14 & under Borunda)


Mens Open:

Andrew Clarke def Raymond Maestas 15-12, 15-12 3rd (tie) Ramon Gomez & Jay Munoz 1/4s Ken Cheshire, Jesse Giron, Tim Cohen, Nathan Torres 9th (tie) Kyle Lucas, Raaj Mohan, Guy Coggins, Shane Carlson, Cameron Cannady, Jeff Baskett, Riley Sievers, Marcos Jimenez 17th (tie) Frank Alongi & Remy Feldman

Mens Elite:

Ramon Gomez def Darrell Uher 15-11, 15-1 3rd Frank Alongi 4th Djoko Boentaran 1/4s Guy Coggins, Shane Carlson, Remy Feldman, Marcos Jimenez 9th (tie) Nick Lucas, Dominic Maestas, Robert Mergener, Bill Beggs, Gary Flores, Donovan Duran, Kyle Lucas 16th Michael Garcia

Mens A:

Marlon Caballero def Nick Lucas 15-12, 15-10 3rd Gary Flores 4th Michael Garcia 1/4s Vincent Chacon, Mike Morales, Adrian Leyva, Jason Daskalos 9th (tie) Carlos Montano, Anthony Garcia, Ernesto Nunez, Antonio Garcia

Mens B:

Carlos Montano def Michael Ytuarte 15-5, 15-12 3rd (tie) Adrian Leyva, Tucker Green 1/4s Ernesto Nunez, Antonio Garcia, Vernon Bradley, Lloyd Ferran 9th (tie) Ron Loehman, Dean Ocksrider, Tim Blasiman

Mens C:

Kelly Anders def Vernon Bradley 15-8, 15-9 3rd Gary Figueroa 4th Zach Zeve 5th (tie) Tim Blasiman, Steve Caruso, Dylan Bodman

Mens D:

Gary Figueroa def Yvonne Grinnell 15-14, 15-5 3rd Damien Esquivel 4th Levi Borunda Jr 5th Curtis Johnson


Patty Greene def William Matotan 15-5, 15-14

Mens 40+:

Jason Daskalos def Dominic Maestas 15-13, wbd 3rd Michael Ytuarte

Mens 50+:

Ken Goldstein def Anthony Garcia 15-10, 15-4 3rd Jeff Baskett 4th David Walsh

Mens 55+:

Gustavo Farell def Richard Hammer 15-4, 15-6 3rd Levi Borunda 4th Mike Morales 5th Andre Chacon

Mens 65/70+:

Ron Loehman def Lallman Poolay 15-10, 8-15, 11-5 3rd Tucker Green 4th Lloyd Ferran

Mens 95+:

William Matotan


Paddleball Open:

Tim Cohen def Ken Cheshire 12-11 3rd Raaj Mohan 4th Gary Mazaroff 5th Donovan Duran 6th Frank Alongi 7th Dominic Maestas




April 12-15 Santa Fe National; El Gancho Club, Santa Fe, NM

April 19-22 Kachina Invitational; Garcia Fitness Center, Gallup, NM